Another Combat Card evening

I had joined Pinkie and Headburro tonight to sort out the set of combat cards I had purchased, into decks.  Head helped both Pinkie and I by showing us how to transfer them into an active deck to be used for combat.  As I’ve said before, I have some strange traits and not reading instructions is one of them.  Well I took the lazy way out and transferred the whole pack instead of sorting them into groups of balanced cards, some cards defend and the others attack, so not surprisingly I had a terrible ‘hand’ with only one or two cards I could use.    It was pure luck that I managed to beat both Pinkie and Head in the first round, they had the same trouble with a terrible hand as well, so in the beginning I thought I was on a roll.

                                                   snapshot_047.jpg

                                                    snapshot_028.jpg

We were joined by TR, and Head explained the Combat Cards system to her,  later on Enjah joined us for a short visit and it was nice to see her.

                                                   snapshot_045.jpg

Head and Pinkie had a match that seemed to go on forever, they both had really bad hands and just didn’t seem to be able to cause each other any damage, then suddenly Head got the upper hand and poor Pinkie hit the deck.  It was a bit of a grudge match, as they had been trading insults all week, I had threatened to knock their heads together on more than one occasion.  Only great mates could could swap such witty repartees (see comments in these posts and the comments at  Headburro’s blog ‘Backpacking Burro’ in WordPress).

                                                   snapshot_042.jpg

                                                   snapshot_043.jpg

 Then foolishly I suggested to Pinkie that we have another match, well we played another two matches with a proper demo pack this time and she thrashed me twice!!  She really is very good at this game.  Shamefully all my practice with the poor robots seemed a waste, as I was no match for Pinkie, doesn’t put me off though, it’s a lot of fun even when I lose.

                                                  snapshot_048.jpg

While we fought, Head and TR were trying out other skins, that dark shape in the background is Head, without his horns.   It was a great night and I’ve got to spend some time sorting my cards out properly now, so that I can stay on my feet and not spend so much time on my back being defeated.  Only time will tell……                                                  

                                                  

                                                  

5 Responses to Another Combat Card evening

  1. HBA says:

    Hiya J – it was a great night, even if the fight between me and Pinks lasted for longer than the Hundred Years War!

    Great shots, btw – the one of me dead, and of me running the Destroyer through are brill!

    I think we all need to work on our decks 😀 I’m going to take some of the high hitters out, but I’d like to try and leave one possible 3-card-combo in there. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    I’m going to practice on the robots tonight, I think 🙂

  2. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Was a great night, great company, great battles and lots of fun. I love combat cards…thxs to Head for introducing me to them.

    Will be sorting my cards out soon….and need to practice as I kept getting my butt kicked. 😦
    at least we know that even in a stalemate….I still diiiiiiiieeeeeee

  3. Janey Bracken says:

    You both did great, you know you are both getting better all the time.

  4. This is great – I love the snaps 😀

  5. Janey Bracken says:

    We all love the game Osprey, we think its Brill 🙂

Leave a Reply

