Christmas at Island of Weems

Well Christmas is only a few weeks away and I just love this time of year.  I had intended going out tonight to photograph some animals as I’m entering a photograph competition.  The theme is ‘The Wilds’, Osprey Therian is holding the competition and I know the standards will be high, so I wanted to get some good pictures.  I searched for places with animals and teleported to a location that promised some wildlife.  On my arrival I met the most gorgeous scene, pure Christmas, a magical sight.

                                       reindeer_006.jpg

                                       reindeer_002.jpg

The deer were really friendly, as was the giant bear and I managed to get really close to them.  The falling snow added to the tranquility of the place, giving you the feeling that Christmas had already arrived.

                                      reindeer_005.jpg

There are beautiful chalets on the site (as seen in the first picture above, made by Julia Hather) and the detail was breathtaking, inside the chalet was cosy and snug for anyone wanting to spend a night in such a winter wonderland.

                                      reindeer_008.jpg

There is a large skating rink and you can get a pair of skates to ice dance with the skating snowmen there.  I donned a pair of skates and skated across to the Christmas store, which stocked everything you could ever wish for, for Christmas. 

                                      reindeer_016.jpg

I felt like a kid again as I entered the store and spotted Santa.  Couldn’t resist, I sat on his knee and told him my wishes for Christmas.  I ended up having a meal in front of the blazing log fire in the store, what a lovely setting it would be to bring a friend to. 

                                    reindeer_012.jpg

                                    reindeer_013.jpg

I was lucky enough to meet Wheemzel DeCuir, she and her husband BengalTiger Writer, own Island of Weems and they have worked so hard to make such a wonderful Christmas scene.  She told me that they also own Island of Kerry which has Airplanes, Helicopters, Boats and other vehicles, so I’ll have to pay a visit to that Island when I have time.  All in all they must be very busy people and I’d like to thank Wheemzel for letting me look around and take my pictures.  Pop over to Island of Weems if you love Christmas, you’ll be delighted.  (if you wish to visit just go to Search then Places in Second Life and type ‘Island of Weems’ and teleport straight there).

                                   

9 Responses to Christmas at Island of Weems

  1. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Love Christmas….. they have definately captured the spirit of Christmas. Looking forward to experiencing the scene for myself 🙂
    As always great pictures, Janey.

  2. HBA says:

    Bah! Humbug… oooo, no! I *like* xmas! Sorry, got caught in my Grumps mode!

    Cracking post J… you know it would make a lovely BB Travel Guide… */me looks innocent and flashes some serious gazelle eyelash at Janey*

  3. Pinkie Delcon says:

    I agree with Head on this one J. Reach a wider audience.

  4. Janey Bracken says:

    Thanks for your nice comments you two and blueseaglass as well. It is a lovely site to go to visit, so was an easy blog to do. No good flashing those long gazelle eyelashes at me Head, you know I’m not a good descriptive writer like you. However, if you want to use this post for one of your travel guides I’d he honoured and I’m sure Wheemzel wouldn’t mind 🙂

  5. HBA says:

    Janey – I think it is perfect as itstands to be a BB travel guide – no work required! Bung it in a notecard with the LM and pics and we are away!

  6. Janey Bracken says:

    Ok, I’ll have a go later and send it to you so you can see if its the right kind of format, got things going on in rl this afternoon though 😦

  7. HBA says:

    RL sux teh big time!*

    *written in interweb speak 🙂

  8. Janey Bracken says:

    yes it does haha

Leave a Reply

