Newbie Look

My friend Headburro came round to my house last night to have a chat and see my Christmas decs (I’ve put the old house away, probably never to be seen again, and built a little cabin thing, well looks more like a summerhouse with snow, but there you go!).  We got chatting about skins and he told me about a really good shop for getting one, for those who don’t know second life, when you first create your 3D person (avator), you can chose what sort of person you want to be, and you have newbie clothes and newbie skin.  I chose a goth avator for myself, shame I don’t have any pics, but thought I looked really cool with my white skin, horrible newbie hair and dreadful black and red clothes.  Only when you see other people walking about with flowing hair, beautiful glowing skin and clothes that look straight off the catwalk, do you realise you have so far to go in the appearance stakes, and the shoes, such a lovely range of high heels instead of pointy newbie shoes with odd shaped heels that you start with.  I went through quite a range of different looks, quickly getting away from the goth phase, after I discovered I could do quite a lot in the appearance mode within the Second Life tools, changing my complexion, reshaping my features and adjusting my make up until I liked it.  Having only a little money, I search out many free clothes and shoes that I could modify and bargain hair that wasn’t half bad.  Well talking about a new skin with Head got me all fired up to change myself again last night, so he showed me where the shop was and we both bought some nice new eyes.  Head had to go off, so I went back to have a good look at the ivory skin that looked very glamorous on the model in the pictures.  I spied that you could buy a demo pack to try the four different types of make up that comes with the skin and bought one to take home.  Well I got home and tried it on, well, I was just hoping no one would spot me, as there I stood with ‘demo’ written all over me.

                                                   demo-skin_001.jpg

Well, panic stations, realised I could not change back that easily, as I just couldn’t go back to my old face that I had constructed out of the appearance tools (I’m sure there is a way but panic had set in and I was in a flap).  Dashed back to the shop and bought the skin, quickly putting it on, wore it for a little while and realised I hated it.  Well thank goodness for the wonderful people who give out freebies in sl, I found a free skin in my inventory that I didn’t know I had, that I could modify, and putting it on, quickly got back to the old me.

                                                   demo-skin_003.jpg

Well I read Headburro’s blog today and he nicely took the p……. out of my bits and pieces face, which was hilarious (go and see it at www.headburroantfarm.wordpress.com, its always a great blog to read anyway), so I though I’d get my own back, tehe.  While he was at my place last night, he was called away from the keyboard. He had been showing me his newbie look when he had chosen the ‘boy next door’ appearance.  I sneakily tooks some pics, awww didn’t he look so cute.

                                                    headburro-at-my-place_002.jpg

                                                    headburro-at-my-place_005.jpg

And below is a picture of Head in one of his up to date guises that we all know and love.  Well we’ve all come a long way from the first time we logged on and thought we were so stylish in the newbie outfits and shapes.  I’ll have to ask my other mate Pinkie who she came in as, I’ve only known her as her beautiful self (pictured below Head’s pic), perhaps she’ll tell me her story……

                                                   headburro-at-my-place_001.jpg

                                                   head_003.jpg

                                                 

                                                                                                                                    

                                                   

                                                   

                                                    

12 Responses to Newbie Look

  1. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Love it J, I think you should have kept the demo skin on, just to see other peoples reactions. wasn’t Head cute 😀

  2. HBA says:

    LOL – what a great post! I loved being the ‘boy next door’ but the missus took the rise out of me sommat chronic at the time (about a year ago – I would have been sat camping in A Different Point of View in Nova Albion with Mrs A mocking me for playing another game and looking like a little geek – she is cruel).

    We’ve all come a long way and look pretty darn good now 🙂

    Sorry you didn’t like the skin you bought hun – I thought it look great in the picture above though.

    You can find your original goth look in the LIBRARY section of your inventory – just make sure you have made a back up of the skin you are in now! Go to Appearance and click Save As… to save your shape and skin under a name and in a folder you choose.

    hx

  3. HBA says:

    Cute? CUTE! oooooo, you two!!!

  4. Pinkie Delcon says:

    In my naive young newbie state… I was never sure how people could tell I was new. Now its obvious we all looked the same. I went for the “girl next door” look, Janey. 🙂
    Weird how much I have learnt in a year. Good friends who share infomation has helped 🙂

  5. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Looking forward to seeing your place all ready for Chistmas.

  6. Janey Bracken says:

    ‘Girl next door’ look seems very popular with newbies as does ‘Boy next door’ (cute, haha), quite an exciting time really creating the looks we all ended up with, lots of fabulous designers in sl creating new stuff for us all the time (just think what a blog you could do about them Pinkie, when you get some free time 😉 ). Trouble with the skin I bought was that it said you could modify the make up, but all that meant was you could change the colour of the lippy and the eyes still looked awful, for such an expensive skin you’d have thought it would be more adaptable. This freebie one I now have lets you be in full control, a lot to be said for freebies! Drop by my place any time to see the decs Pinkie, may add a little more, prims permitting 🙂

  7. HBA says:

    The ‘Winter Wonderland’ make over is great Janey! And you’re right – Sammy loves the snow! Well, that or he’s looking for all those acorns he buried before the 3 inch layer of snow descened over night! Poor Sammy!

  8. Janey Bracken says:

    Oh no, never thought of that, will have to buy some squirrel food for him at the garden centre, mind you Sammy is so smart I reckon he knows where to dig anyway, he’s good at sniffing things out. He’s got his winter coat so he looks extra cute 🙂

  9. HBA says:

    Did you get my mesage from Osprey – you beat Destroyer fair and square 🙂 I think that will make both of you feel better!

  10. Janey Bracken says:

    Yes thanks I did, well makes me feel better, the fight was a hard slog I expect Pinkie thought so too. Nice of you to get in touch with Osprey on my behalf as well 🙂

  11. Nay worries. Next time I suggest you IM him to ask him nicely to stop and then let me bounce him around for the rest of the night if he doesn’t. No one picks on my mate*

    *even if they are capable of looking after themselves 🙂

  12. Janey Bracken says:

    awww thank you 🙂 I have actually just IM’d him and I’ve dropped you a copy, don’t see why he should just go happily on his way without me telling him off, haha.

Leave a Reply

