True Brits – Dog-Sleigh race

I recently joined a group called ‘True Brits’, founded by Fennel Mimistrobell.  It looks like a really good group and tonight, for the first time, I had time to attend one of the gatherings, It turned out to be a residents team and they put on social events for their community all the time.  They were holding a dog-sleigh race and I thought I’d have a look.   I was greeted by a nice lady called Kay Merlin who was arranging all the sleighs at the start line.  They gave me a dog and sleigh and at first I said I would only watch for the time being.  The track for the race was all around the edge of the snowy island and it was a very tricky course, including a very narrow bridge after the first few yards.  People tried to get their sleighs lined up next to each other and after a minute or two they set off.

                                                  dog-sleigh_003.jpg

Watching them all go, I thought it was daft of me not to have a go as well, so I got my dog and sleigh and attempted to join in.  Unfortunately I came up behind someone on the narrow bridge and I lost control, tipping into the sea.  It wasn’t the fault of the person on the bridge, I would have lost control anyway, definitely need more practice.

                                                  dog-sleigh_005.jpg

Congratulations to Keryn Karas who came first and Clover Vella who came second, they did really well as they were way ahead of the rest of the riders.

                                                 dog-sleigh_007.jpg

                                                 dog-sleigh_006.jpg

I’m pleased I went along as it was a fun event and everyone enjoyed themselves.  I had to dive back into the sea to save my dog, but he was none the worse for going under the water, must be good at holding his breath lol.

                                                 

                                                

4 Responses to True Brits – Dog-Sleigh race

  1. HBA says:

    Hiya J – looks like great fun – can you image the mayhem I would have caused with my driving skills!!!

    p.s. Good job Tiddles wasn’t down there 😀

  2. Janey Bracken says:

    I’m surprised I even found the sleigh in my inventory, what a state I get in!! It was good fun though, and it seems that the people involved on that island go to a lot of trouble to put on events for the people living there, a very nice touch. Bet your driving would have been better than mine 🙂 and yes Tiddles would have had a field day !!

  3. HBA says:

    LOL – What are we going to do about your Inventory? You need to create lots and lots of folders (or you need to create very few – whichever works for you 🙂 ) and move stuff in. and delete stuff too 😀

  4. Janey Bracken says:

    I delete, I re-organise, I make new folders, I’m a lost cause, I hoard stuff, keep doubles in case I lose the first one, what a headcase, but never mind, perhaps I’ll have a proper clear out for Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

