CNN Meeting

I had been interested in sending a story to CNN ever since Wheemzel (owner of Isle of Weems) told me that CNN were looking for people in Second Life to become I-reporters (big thank you to Wheemzel for telling me, go and visit her and her husband BengalTiger’s glorious Island, it’s well worth it! (see previous post on Christmas at Isle of Weems).   I finally put a story on to the CNN site the other day, after I had had my exciting meeting with the Mafia mob, also as outlined in a previous post.  I had missed the last couple of CNN meetings ‘in world’ and managed to get there for the first time last night.  I asked my best mate Headburro if he was interested in attending (see his brilliant blogging at www.headburroantfarm.wordpress.com) and he came along as well (its thanks to him that I’m writing anything at all, because he encouraged me, and told me what fun it was writing a blog in the first place).  Headburro also brought his pal Marisa along, Marisa is also a great writer, she writes articles for Headburro’s travel guides and these excellent guides are priceless for people who want to explore the second life world properly. 

                                 welfare-island_003.jpg          

The meeting was extremely interesting, it was run by Nicole and Tyson from CNN, who ran us through all the stories which had been posted over the last two weeks.  They also allowed everyone to have a debate at the end of the slideshow about what would make newsworthy stories and how these are connected to real life stories.  ‘Never miss an opportunity’, that’s what I say, and that’s what happened half way through the meeting when an av appeared waving a banner advertising his own particular type of politics, well mate you got your picture on my blog, well done!!  So come on Headburro and Marisa, I can’t wait to read your stories on CNN.

8 Responses to CNN Meeting

  1. HBA says:

    Hey, thanks for taking me along hun – I loved it and will be writing something this week, RL permitting 🙂

  2. Janey Bracken says:

    Think I’m getting carried away, just sent another one to CNN, just happened to get a story of a caging as I walked by …….. Can’t wait to see your report xx

  3. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Geez…how much fun are you guys having without me. 😦 The Destroyer can be hurt you know 😀

  4. HBA says:

    Come back Pinkieeeeeeeeee!

  5. Janey Bracken says:

    No fun without you Pinkie, but I’m becoming a hard nosed reporter, need my mate back 😦

  6. Pinkie Delcon says:

    Thought I would have more time now. Not working out that way at the mo’, Not sure when life became so hectic…it must calm down soon. 😦

  7. Janey Bracken says:

    Hope so, we’ve got lots of poetry evenings to catch up on as well. Also you could join us as an ace reporter, we were good detectives so we should be good at threatening people into telling us their stories haha

  8. […] managed to talk me into going to the CNN meeting (my post about it is here and Janey’s is here) and writing for them because not only is it what I do for the this blog and my travel guides […]

Leave a Reply

