New Gallery extension, but CNN let down

I really like my little gallery with all my bits and bobs of artwork, but my real love of all the painters would have to be the Pre Raphaelites, artists John Everett Millais, William Holman Hunt and Dante Gabriel Rossetti, I also like associated artists such as John Waterhouse and many others who paint in a similar vein.  I put up an extension to the gallery the other day, as I needed more space, then the thought suddenly occurred to me that I could go round sl and collect all my favourite paintings to place in there.  I was not disappointed as there are quite a few galleries that support all kinds of works of the masters, the prices ranged from 175L$ right down to lL$, what joy to find such a bargain that would give me so much pleasure.  I came home full of excitement and really enjoyed setting them all into place.  I even found, the painting I like the best, Ophelia by Millais, to see the real version took my breath away and you can only wonder at the poor model who posed in the bath for him to create such a masterpiece (she died later apparently of the consequences of catching a chill because of this)

                                            gallery-new_001.jpg

                                            gallery-new_002.jpg

My friend Drax dropped by and I showed him the Gallery and he was taken by the Lady Godiva picture by John Collier, a good pick, such a wonderful painting.  I had to leave for the CNN meeting at 10pm and was quite looking forwards to it.  The turn out was less this week, but we started the discussion and it was getting interesting as we had a question forum at the beginning for a change.   Suddenly disaster for me, in real life a powerful storm suddenly cut my electricity off and I crashed in sl.  Luckily the electric came back on after about 10 minutes and I was able, once again, to join the meeting.  Trouble was, I not only lost the thread after that, but the forum seemed to be taken over by someone who seemed to want to advertise her journalism courses in rl and didn’t seem interested in doing any cnn reporting anyway.  She seemed to monopolize the whole session criticising the content of previous reports.  Maybe I got hold of the wrong end of the stick with this, as I had missed some of the chat, but I sat there thinking I would rather be somewhere else as it all seemed a waste of time.  It’s true that I think there should be a bit more effort put into some of the reports other than two lines, but I’m sure everyone is doing their best and they will develop as time goes on.  Also I think the very big company cnn could afford to pay us a few Linden Dollars for our efforts, maybe that would encourage more writers, would be nice to help pay my rent anyway, lol.  But to come along without contributing and then criticise everyone else is a bit naughty.  I had to calm down after that and took Colin for a trot around LINC Island, did me good and Colin got to see the statue of the unicorn he likes again, so we both enjoyed it. 

                                           after-cnn-meeting_001.jpg

Perhaps I got it wrong about the CNN meeting so if anyone wants to enlighten me about the Ladies intentions perhaps they would let me know, but might be a good idea if people, who do not intend to actually do any iReports themselves, just stay away.

                                           

5 Responses to New Gallery extension, but CNN let down

  1. HBA says:

    Hiya – sorry I couldn’t make it last night 😦 As for the woman, well if all she was there for was to have a pop at people, then she can fek off! If CNN want more ‘journo’ style reporting and less ‘blog’ style, they should help the contributors to achieve that – as they haven’t they must be happy with what they are getting. Some people are just full of their own self importance, and I know enough journos and media types to know they are amongst the worst – always have an opinion and always want to tell you it. God they are annoying. (sorry to my mate Prof Monkey who teaches it in RL).

  2. Janey Bracken says:

    Hi Head, well she has posted a cnn report tonight, but she is reporting herself in third party terms, most odd, mind you it might be me I know nothing about journalism, so hats off to her. I’ll just carry on in my own style though, I’m happy chatting to other people about what they do. 🙂

  3. Drax Ember says:

    Wow – what a wonderful exhibit! Your taste in art is exquisite!

  4. Drax Ember says:

    I think we should petition CNN to raise the pay of these fine reporters! Just think of the cost of hay for poor Colin alone! It’s scandalous!!!

  5. Janey Bracken says:

    Well thank you Drax, definately need more hay as not much grass on my beach for Colin to eat, think CNN are on to a good thing paying us nothing, I’ll send Colin round to stamp on them, lol.

Leave a Reply

