Journalism, is it time to quit?

Seem to be having a negative approach to stuff today, I was really pleased with my latest CNN report about the AKK Ranch, but it didn’t meet to everyone’s approval there, so bought me crashing down a peg or two I can tell you, good thing I suppose, case I felt like I was getting good at interviewing, when all the time I may not have been.  (I do keep transcripts of all the interviews so I do know what people have quoted (between computer crashes!!!) even though they forget what they said on occasions, but I do get some things wrong sometimes I admit).  You come to the conclusion that you are working hard for nothing (you don’t get paid) and is it all worth it in the end.  I like writing and must admit I’ve had fun meeting lots of nice people, so perhaps I should put today behind me, but I feel like quitting.  There is a CNN meeting tonight, don’t know if I’ll go yet, might do.  Anyway I shouldn’t be using my blog to be a miserable cow.  On a lighter note here’s a nice pic of me trying to cross a bridge on horseback with a snarling beast in the way, he was a pussycat really, lol.

                                             snapshot_083.jpg

My computer crashed so much in sl last night that I used up all the five ‘trial goes’ on the pretty AKK demo horse within an hour or so, bit annoying, was nice trying him out though.

                                            snapshot_074.jpg

Promise I’ll be smiling again tomorrow 🙂

                                             

                                                      

7 Responses to Journalism, is it time to quit?

  1. HBA says:

    Don’t let one person put you off – you are a great reporter for CNN and you love doing it. If they person you are writing about can help you improve your piece then all well and good, but at the end of the day it is your piece, not his. You write it your way :)x

  2. melynndreamscape says:

    Everyone is allowed to whine once in a while. Second Life is about doing what you love to do. It is only time to re-evaluate if you aren’t having fun anymore. Writing takes practice, like anything else you want to be good at. If you are still having fun and feel you are getting some advantage from your reporting, keep at it. Learn from the mistake and move on.

  3. Janey Bracken says:

    Thanks Head, I’ll feel differently tomorrow, and I welcome constructive criticism from anyone, as I want to get things right and make people happy with what I write. Maybe take a few days off from it all to calm down. Funny thing tonight I looked for an empty sim and found one cos I wanted to be on my own and the owner turned up, saw my tag and wanted me to write about it, think I’ll have to put ‘HBA Island’ tag back on for a while, lol

  4. Janey Bracken says:

    Thanks melynndreamscape, you are perfectly right, thanks for your comment 🙂

  5. Drax Ember says:

    You do a damn good job on this blog. You find interesting subjects, work hard and write in a wonderful style that makes it almost seem like you are having a direct conversation with each reader. Have fun with it and keep on writing! I for one look forwward to each column! If they want stilted, impersonal prose, they can read the New Your Times!

  6. Drax Ember says:

    And while your at it, try to teach me to proof read before I make any posts! *grins

  7. Janey Bracken says:

    Hi Drax, thank you for your so kind comments, so glad I’ve got such a good friend like you. Have to go horse riding with you again soon so I can write all about our adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

