Landscaper Pinkie and Chelsea Houseboats

My mate Pinkie is becoming quite a builder just lately.  She has her beautiful beach home and has been busy making it the way she wants it.  I went over there to see how she is getting on and she had just put a stream in.  It runs from the waterfall down into the sea and she has made a really great job of it.  She has been making rocks to soften the edges and she was in the middle of that when Headburro and I dropped in.

Headburro has found a new skill in Second Life, swimming, he splashed around us and then lazily floated on his back watching the world go by.  Nice way of relaxing, he had just come straight from his performance in ‘The Show Must Go On’ which I’m pleased to say had been a really successful evening for him.  We will see the show when it goes on the road shortly, so I’m looking forwards to that.

I popped over to the London sim yesterday for a look at the Mayfair Art Festival that they are putting on all this month.  I had bumped into Fennel Mimistrobell there the other day, and she told me that they were installing some houseboats to rent along the Chelsea Embankment.  I decided to see what they looked like, as I would love to rent one for a short time.

I clambered on board a couple of them and had a look inside, they were all different, some, the ones I liked the best, had rounded ends, giving you a lovely big oval window inside looking out over the Thames.  You also have the option of sitting upstairs on the open decks, lovely place for a glass of wine after a hectic day.   Something magical about real life Chelsea Embankment with its houseboats and it’s nice to see them in Second Life.

7 Responses to Landscaper Pinkie and Chelsea Houseboats

  1. HBA says:

    Hi matey – I never knew I was such a water baby 🙂

    I love the houseboats – very swish. Are they in the Thames? I have a feeling I’m going to have to visit these London sims – you can be my tour guide as I knew very little of London 🙂

  2. Janey Bracken says:

    You certainly swim very well!!! Yes the houseboats are a lovely idea, always seems a romantic thing to live in a houseboat, they are in the Thames along Cheyne Walk, Chelsea Embankment in rl. Hate to think how expensive the real ones would be now, sl ones seem a lot better deal 🙂

  3. HBA says:

    Is the Thames in use? I mean, can it be used? Fireworks or parties or swimming?

  4. Janey Bracken says:

    You mean the SL Thames? Well haven’t seen a lot going on there except for the houseboats, not sure if that is the edge of the sim will have to go back and look. Like the sea outside my house, you can’t venture very far into it. SL London has gone from three sims to four so is expanding all the time, quite exciting.

  5. HBA says:

    Yup, that’s the one I meant – I have the same issue with my ‘sea’ on HBA Island 😦

    I’d love for the London sims to actually make a useable Thames in there – after all, it is such a vital part of the RL London that to have it as just ‘dead space’ is such a shame. I think opening it up for watersports / contest and parties and free daily firework displays would be excellent.

  6. Akiko says:

    Dear Janey,

    I reahed your site accidentally.

    My name is Akiko.
    I am looking for a houseboat in London which we can film on the 23rd July. I would be extremely grateful if you could speak to the owners of the houseboats.

    It is for a Japanese television programme called “NIJI-IRO JEAN” featuring interesting topics from all over the world.

    The show is on air every Saturday morning and is nationwide.

    The crew is interested in featuring a houseboat as a way of life in Britain, and planned date for the shoot is on the 23rd July 2008.

    The filming will not take too long, most likely less than an hour, as we have a lot to do in one day, and it will be filmed with a hand held camcorder.

    Thank you very much for your help and I look forward to hearing from you very soon.

    All the best,

    Akiko

  7. Dear Akiko,

    Thank you very much for your comments on my Janey’s Place blog. I don’t know if you realised that the blog is about ‘Second Life’ which is a
    virtual reality world (www.SecondLife.com ) so regretfully the houseboats do not exist in the real world. There are actual houseboats in the real
    life London in Cheyne Walk, Chelsea, but I do not know who owns them. Sorry I could not help you with this.

    Good Luck with your film

    Best Wishes
    Janey

Leave a Reply

