Tribute Island and the Big Green Switch

Drax and I thought we would explore a little over the weekend.  My boss Nikk Huet owns two fantastic sims, Tribute Island and The Big Green Switch.  Although I’d visited Tribute Island before I knew that Drax hadn’t been there, also I had missed a lot last time, its a place you can keep going back to and see new things.  We entered a theatre on Tribute island and skylarked about, Drax became James Bond OO7 and I swam with Jaws, I just got out before the big fish got me!

Going out into the open once more we stood chatting, suddenly I noticed something was attacking us as I saw the beam from a ray gun hit the ground behind Drax.   Pulling back we could see that it was a giant alien craft from the wonderful H.G. Wells’ story ‘War of the Worlds’  It is actually a tribute to actor Richard Burton who narrated War of the Worlds for music by Jeff Wayne.

Tribute Island has so much to see, its well worth a visit.   I had written about it before for CNN when I had visited the memorial park, it’s a tribute to all the British troops killed in Afghanistan and Iraq, so very sad!  It’s a lovely thing for Nikk to do, at least people will remember all those who bravely fought for us. 

We decided to head on over to The Big Green Switch, its a site all about being good to the environment and ways to save energy.  We spotted a structure like the front of a boat and posed as if on the Titanic, I could almost feel the wind whistling through my hair as we captured the moment.

It was a fun day and we both really enjoyed it.  It’s lovely to get out and about, and we will do a lot more exploring all over the grid as soon as we get a chance.

 

5 Responses to Tribute Island and the Big Green Switch

  1. Drax Ember says:

    What a wonderful weekend. This is what SL is all about! The joy and beauty of discovering places like these made it a perfect weekend. Of course it wouldn’t have been anywhere near as much fun without sharing the time with you! That made it perfect!

  2. Janey Bracken says:

    Yes it was a wonderful weekend for me too, and its always so much fun being with you, you are the very best company!! Just think of all those places we haven’t seen yet, SL has so much to offer and it will be lovely to explore them together!!

  3. HBA says:

    Hiya – that place look amazing! I’ll have to take time out and go there soon. I’m very disappointed there was no bikini in the jaws shot, Ms Bracken 😉

  4. Janey Bracken says:

    Hmmm, a Southener in a bikini, what a gut wrenching thought!!

  5. HBA says:

    Ooooo, ya knows I was jesting – you big soft apeth. Taking the rise out of each other about being a southener wuss or northern scally is all part of being British and mates. When all said and done, it’s the French we both take the p155 out of 🙂

    p.s. Dennise Van Outen in a bikini is yummy, but Lisa Dingle…? See – you southeners are a far more attractive bunch.*

    *Than people from Yorkshire, that is. Next to us Lancastrians is a whole different story…

Leave a Reply

