Losing Selina

A B SELINA

I hadn’t known Selina Cazalet very well, I had met her when she came to Virtual London and she seemed bubbly and nice and so full of life.  She had bought a longboat and wanted to moor it down by Big Ben in SL Chelsea.  Debs Regent, Selina’s friend Lady Krimmer, Seany Blinker and I had all stood with our glasses of champagne chatting and admiring the boat.  So it was with some shock that I heard that the real lady behind Selina’s avatar has died of cancer.  Lady Krimmer told me a couple of days ago and she is so upset about losing her friend and it made me immensely sad too.

I had started out last night by going to the Mayhem Club in SL Mayfair, they had a contest there and I wanted to photograph the costumes that people had on.  I had already covered the 9/11 event in SL earlier in the day and put a story on CNN.  It’s nice that people still make the effort to pay their respects in SL.  After I had been to the Mayhem club for a little while I got a call from Lady Krimmer, who was at Jade’s Jazz Club listening to singer Inchino Melson.  I asked Lady to send me a teleport and I joined her.  We sat on the piano listening to the beautiful voice of Inchino as we talked about Selina.

A B ONE

A B TWO

Selina’s family had sent a real life picture of her to Lady  and she showed it to me, Selina was smiling in the picture and looked beautiful and so nice, and it really brings it home to you how precious life is.   Lady asked me if I wanted to go and see her home in SL and I said that I would like to see it, so she teleported ahead ready to send for me.

A B THREE REAL

I reached Lady’s lovely home which had wonderful gardens with two castles and some of the buildings had been built by her friend who had made the Da Vinci sim, it was all just out of this world (even SL world).

A B FOUR GARDEN

A B FIVER DOVES

Exploring the gardens, we went through a very pretty fairy garden and over a bridge to one of the castles with its little winding staircases.  Lady showed me the Jacuzzi and we both got into the water just floating and relaxing.  She had some cosmetics on the side of the pool and told me another  friend had made them.  Opening a foam bath bottle I could see all the bubbles and flowers as they swirled around her. 

A B LADY AND ME

A B JACUZZI

A B COSMETICS

A B BUBBLES

You sort of carry on with ordinary things don’t you, you have to, but I know Lady is feeling the loss of Selina very much, and my thoughts are with her and Selina’s family and friends.  As we go on in SL we will all experience the pain of losing someone and it’s not easy.

A B LAST

3 Responses to Losing Selina

  1. Ahhh, I’m sorry for your loss – my thoughts are with her family and friends, both in SL and RL.

  2. Drax Ember says:

    When the virtual world was started I’m sure that the creators had no idea that it would bring all the joy of friendship and the pain of loss that we all experience in everyday life. The friendships garnered here are just as intense (sometimes more so) as those in the everyday world. I’m sorry for Lady’s loss and wish to extend my sympathies.

  3. Aww thank you Drax, yes feelings here are so very real.

Leave a Reply

