Busy Halloween Night in Virtual London And New Jazz Club!

You wonder what SL will be  like without Halloween!  It seems it’s a big deal all around the world, celebrating the night that the witches and spirits come out to play.  Not so much for us in the UK, but it seems we are catching up a bit with trick or treat for the kids, which has become a custom over here too.  The grid had so many haunted places to visit this year and so many parties arranged, you couldn’t be everywhere  at once which was a shame.  I had already been to some early parties.  Hibiscus had looked fabulous in her witches outfit the other night at the Garden Cafe party, she got the dress as a bargain and she is good at spotting the right thing to wear.

AAAA H HIB

I had been dressed as a witch too that night, and wanted something different for last night’s parties in SL London.  I went off wandering earlier in the day and went over to a store called Evie’s Closet.  I had covered Evie’s designs at the Virtual London Fashion Week and really loved her beautiful gowns, so I decided to join the group.  Luckily I did, as I got a free faery outfit on joining, and it was a gorgeous floaty dress with autumn colours.  I put it on when I got back to my place and decided it would look ok if I put a pale skin with it.  I found a goth skin and decided that would do for the parties.

AAAA H ME OUTSIDE CLUB

I went over to the Mayhem Club in SL Mayfair, as their evening started earlier than the Underground Club, and the place was already packed out.  Ed joined me over there and people looked amazing, Ed had his Zombie skin on as well. 

AAAA H ED

AAAA MAYHEM BRIE

SL London Director Brie Janick dropped into the Mayhem dressed as a ghostly bride and she looked great, I’ve no idea where she found that outfit, but it was terrific.  Brie was dj’ing at the Underground Club party later and I was pleased to see her call into the Mayhem Club.  There is something nice happening to Virtual London, a coming together of managers, Torric Rodas (who runs Mayfair)  and Brie seem to be working together now for all of Virtual London and you can see things have settled down.  There are things planned for Virtual London that sound just what we want there, I will, of course be publishing them in Virtually London (lite) as they take shape!  I was lucky last night though, I saw a couple of people in The Kensington building in Virtual Kensington, so I decided to go over and have a chat with one of them.  Hib had always said that The Kensington building would be ideal for the Jazz club that London so badly needs, and that is exactly what’s happening, a new Jazz club is being set up there.  I spoke to Almo Skytower, who was setting the whole thing up, and he appears to have the right ideas about how it should look with the right kind of music too, so I am waiting for him to send me the final details before I publish the good news to Virtual Londoners in a few days.

AAAA  H JAZZ

After the Mayhem Club I went over to the Underground Club and once again it was packed out.  I counted 50 people in Knightsbridge and another 50 in Mayfair at one time, just amazing!

AAAA H UGC

UGC Manager Seany and his team had made the club look fantastic and in the end I could hardly move my camera about as the amount of people in the sim caused so much lag.  So much chatter was  going on that it was hard to follow in the text chat, people were having a great time and filled the text with banter and gestures!  One thing is a problem though, you get so many different chats going on, as the group chats start up as well, that you sometimes miss tags of people trying to IM you and you may not always be available if you are talking to one or two people at the same time.  Any Mr or Ms Lindens who are reading this, and I know you do sometimes, could you send a note to your boss asking if we can have a pre-loaded message in our IM response saying ‘Unavailable for IM’s a the present time’ that we can set, not just ‘Busy’ that stops us reading the local chat unless we have the chat window open.  From people like me’s point of view, sometimes I get three or four IM’s coming in all at once, I would like to pick one IM to answer at a time and be able to load the ‘Unavailable’ message on for any other incoming IM’s.  Just a suggestion!

Well I supposed Halloween is finished, but just around the corner is Christmas, (no not Winterval or EndofYearAval, Christmas!  like it should be!), so I will be looking forward to exploring all the sites that people will now be setting up, I can’t wait!!!

5 Responses to Busy Halloween Night in Virtual London And New Jazz Club!

  1. Ed Follet says:

    Janey, while we are handing out plaudits we should not forget the great work being done in Hyde Park by manager Debbie Platthy and her hard working team of greeters. Traffic is now regularly reaching 40-50 Avs and I’m pleased to see the fencing around the new arrivals area has been removed. It’s always been a nice place but it’s even nicer now. Well done Debbie :-))

  2. Lets hope she might read this Ed, so she can see that you appreciate her contribution! I doubt she knows anything about my contribution in trying to give Virtual London the publicity it needs though!

  3. Hibiscus Hastings says:

    Hi Janey, it was a great evening in London, so much fun. And I agree with you about the “busy” setting, I think something else is needed, too, and I like your idea. I know I miss a lot, and sometimes tags can get buried so you inadvertently ignore someone and vice versa, which can lead to misunderstandings.
    I’m also looking forward to the new jazz club, should be perfect in the Kensington.

  4. Drax Ember says:

    Great idea Janey! I love it!

    Here’s hoping that the new club will be a success!!!

  5. Yes me too Drax, a Jazz Club is just what Virtual London needs for a bit of glam!!

    J x

Leave a Reply

